Elizabeth Mitchell – Little Bird

Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 11.27.36 PM

Elizabeth Mitchell’s ‘You are my Little Bird’ is a beautiful folk-music inspired album for children .  On the liner notes of her album she speaks of the inspiration she found in Woody Guthrie’s album ‘Songs to Grow on for Mother and Child’.  From her inspiration she has created her own playful and poetic music which can be heard daily playing in our classrooms.

The songs that jumped off the vinyl of the Woody Guthrie record were the first songs I heard that accessed the poetry of the emerging language of children. One of my jobs as an assistant teacher was to write down the children’s descriptions of their artwork. Woody’s songs sounded like the stories I would hear from my students as they explained their drawings to me. I cherished these windows into their imaginations; as a songwriter it was inspiring, their minds were so free. I heard that same freedom in Woody’s lyrics.  – Elizabeth Mitchell


Leave a Reply

